I’ll always look out for you.
2019-12-05 -- 1:25 p.m.

11 years ago today you tried to talk to me at Wendy’s. I know that because after the encounter you proceeded to send me a friend request on Facebook. I still remember the exchange that would somehow lead to me knowing you. How casually you said, “Grayson, right?” And when I turned around to see it was you I was so painfully shy all I did was nod. Why were you talking to me? I remember getting my food and walking away only to look at you still smiling at me. I remember sitting down to my table of friends and telling them.

Years later at a diner we sat at last summer you would describe the experience. You would describe my blonde hair pulled in pigtails, the green jacket and slip on vans I always wore. How you were just trying to talk to a cute blonde girl you thought you recognized from home. How you couldn’t imagine someone being so rude to you and not talking back. I mean didn’t I know who you were?

And of course I did, but also- I didn’t really care.

And you cared enough to look me up Facebook that very night.

But it’s weird that we both held on to that moment.

I think about how fast we became so close. How one day we didn’t know each other and within a few weeks we started seeing each other every day. I think about how even though we ultimately became friends because we ran in the same circle it would have all probably been different without that encounter.

Life is weird. Moments are weird. Love is weird. And finding a balance between friendship and love is probably the weirdest of all.

next -- previous


last five
And that’s okay. - 2020-05-14
Quarantine vibezzzzz - 2020-04-19
Always back there. - 2020-03-19
Future - 2020-02-06
This too shall pass - 2019-12-11

navigate
current
archives
profile

contact
notes

thanks
diaryland

girl
22. girl. trying to figure out how to be a grown up.